Book Blessings

Standard

Teachers have so much power and influence if they choose to use it.  One way I like to use my position for positive influence is with book blessings.  Book blessings can come in so many forms: recommendations in the basket, my favorites book basket,  the seven habits display on the shelf, and sticky notes on the books.   This slice is about the easiest, cheapest and quickest way to bless books…sticky notes on the cover.

I always put a few sticky note book recommendations on one or two books every few weeks.  I write a quick few sentences with my name and stick them to the cover of the book in our classroom library.  The last book I stuck with a note was “Zach’s Lie” and it was in the action/adventure basket.  It took a few days, but I noticed a boy in our classroom grab it and take it back to his seat.  As I walked by his desk later in the day I whispered, “I’m glad you found that book.  I know you will like it.” 

The sticky note only contained a few sentences, but they are so much more important than the picture on the cover or the summary on the back.  When someone knows someone else they care about enjoyed the story, they are more interested.  I had written on the note, this book is sure to please you, it has action, adventure and suspense.  You will not want to put it down once you start.  The same boy is about halfway through the book now.  It came up to me today and said, “I really like the book.  You were right about the suspense.”  Sometimes our students just need a little encouragement to take a step to try something new.  Book blessings give that needed courage to try.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

