Memories of Chocolate Chip Cookies

Standard

“Mom, can you make chocolate chip cookies!” asked my daughter. “Sure,” I replied. I thought to myself, “Well, it is Valentine’s Day and we love chocolate chip cookies.”

I dug out the old local church cookbook and turned to the page with all the brown chocolate chip stains. We had used this recipe alot over the years and I knew this was a moment to treasure. Those simple things you remember as a mother and as a daughter. It took me back to when I was young and I held a different role in the chocolate chip cookie experience.

One of my favorite memories was stepping in the back door after riding on Charlie’s school bus for almost forty-five minutes. My senses could detect it as soon as I hit the inside of the garage; “mmmm” the smell of chocolate and sound of the oven buzzer bell as I stepped inside Mom’s kitchen.

“I made you cookies,” mom would exclaim as she lifted them off the cookie sheet dressed in her ruffled apron. She really knew how to make me feel special as she poured the glass of milk for me. It was so much about the timing, the conversations and the loving feeling in that moment. That was just yesterday to me, but realistically it was almost 35 years ago.

I realized then it was the love, not that just the cookies that made those memories so vivid and powerful. I pray I pass along those special memories to my own children. Memories can be so powerful and moving and it only takes something as small and simple as a batch of chocolate chip cookies.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

One response »

  1. You created a wonderful picture with your words. I’m sure the memories of a mom who makes chocolate chip cookies (even if you aren’t wearing a ruffled apron) will stay with your kids. There are some memories that linger for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

